6 Month Photography Programme

Fourways

R37,800.00

  1. Payment Plan option – R37,800.00
  2. Full Payment Upfront option – R35,800.00

COMPONENT 1: THE FUNDAMENTALS OF PHOTOGRAPHY

In this component you will learn the basics of digital photography in order to provide you with a foundational understanding upon which advanced principles are based. During this component students will develop the required skills to capture well-exposed, structured images that are technically superior and artistically driven. Major concepts such as camera operation, colour and contrast management, lighting conditions and studio methodologies provide the student with the tools needed to maximize their skill as a photographer. You will also learn to master the intricacies of TTL and manual exposure flash, as well as how to bounce your hot shoe flash and use it off-camera with confidence.

COMPONENT 2: EDITING, ENHANCEMENT, COMPOSITING

In this component students will be taken on a digital journey; from how digital images are captured in the camera to their final destination on a website, a magazine, an app or on a billboard. In this process students will learn how to capture, edit and manipulate images using the latest version of Adobe Photoshop, in such a manner as to allow for the greatest degree of creative expression. Once you have learnt the basics you will be taught advanced editing techniques used by professional photographers. You will also be introduced to Adobe Lightroom which has been designed to assist you to manage and edit large quantities of digital images in a streamlined way.

COMPONENT 3: SPECIALIST DISCIPLINES

In this component students will learn about the various specialist disciplines such as landscape, travel and wildlife photography. You will also be introduced to the exciting world of people and fashion photography, as well as what it takes to become a successful wedding and studio photographer. To top it off you’ll learn the challenging art of Photojournalism where you speak to your audience through pictures, that are worth a 1000 words.

COMPONENT 4: VISUAL DESIGN AND CREATIVE ELEMENTS

In the professional arena achieving technical excellence is a required standard, but artistic flair is what separates success from failure. In this component we delve into the creative aspects of composition, visual design and aesthetics. During this process students will be taught to pursue their creative instincts through creative photography.

COMPONENT 5: STARTING YOUR PHOTOGRAPHIC BUSINESS

In this component, students will be taught marketing methods and develop the required business skills to operate a photographic business in a competitive market. Photography is a multi-faceted industry and each discipline requires a tailored approach to achieve financial success.

COMPONENT 6: PORTFOLIO AND CORPORATE IMAGE

In practice, the skill of a photographer is judged on the quality of their images. The final component of this programme is the development of the students own brand identity and the final submission of their images in a portfolio layout of the student’s choice, to provide a kick-start into the photography industry.

WHAT EXPERIENCE DO I NEED?

None! To do the course you need no prior photographic knowledge, only enthusiasm and an open mind. A proficiency in English and a basic knowledge of computers is a requirement.

WHAT EQUIPMENT DO I NEED?

You will need a Digital SLR camera, a sturdy tripod, and an external flash unit. Please note that you require your own laptop for the Photoshop and Lightroom training. You will be provided with a trial version of the latest Adobe Photoshop and Lightroom software, but you will be required to purchase the software during the course.

For more information please contact us on 086 11 74686 (PHOTO) or photo@codp.co.za.

Lesson Schedules

Morning Lessons
Lesson Date Time
Mon, 21 January 2019
Introduction Mon, 21 Jan 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Fundamentals 1/5 Wed, 23 Jan 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Fundamentals 2/5 Fri, 25 Jan 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Basic Photoshop 1/5 Mon, 28 Jan 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Fundamentals 3/5 Wed, 30 Jan 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Photo Legend Presentation Fri, 01 Feb 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Fundamentals 4/5 Mon, 04 Feb 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Fundamentals 5/5 Wed, 06 Feb 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Fundamentals Outing Fri, 08 Feb 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Basic Photoshop 2/5 Mon, 11 Feb 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Basic Photoshop 3/5 Wed, 13 Feb 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Basic Photoshop 4/5 Fri, 15 Feb 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Basic Photoshop 5/5 Mon, 18 Feb 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Advanced Digital Photography 1/5 Wed, 20 Feb 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Advanced Digital Photography 2/5 Fri, 22 Feb 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Advanced Digital Photography 3/5 Mon, 25 Feb 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Advanced Digital Photography 4/5 Wed, 27 Feb 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Photoshop Practical Fri, 01 Mar 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Advanced Digital Photography 5/5 Mon, 04 Mar 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Advanced Digital Photography Outing Wed, 06 Mar 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Flash 1/3 Fri, 08 Mar 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Flash 2/3 Mon, 11 Mar 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Flash 3/3 Wed, 13 Mar 2019 9:30 - 12:30
People Photography 1/3 Fri, 15 Mar 2019 9:30 - 12:30
People Photography 2/3 Mon, 18 Mar 2019 9:30 - 12:30
People Photography 3/3 Wed, 20 Mar 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Advanced Photoshop 1/5 Mon, 25 Mar 2019 9:30 - 12:30
People Location Workshop Wed, 27 Mar 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Advanced Photoshop 2/5 Fri, 29 Mar 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Advanced Photoshop 3/5 Mon, 01 Apr 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Advanced Photoshop 4/5 Wed, 03 Apr 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Advanced Photoshop 5/5 Fri, 05 Apr 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Studio Photography 1/5 Mon, 08 Apr 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Studio Photography 2/5 Wed, 10 Apr 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Studio Photography 3/5 Fri, 12 Apr 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Studio Photography 4/5 Mon, 15 Apr 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Studio Photography 5/5 Wed, 17 Apr 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Wedding Photography 1/5 Wed, 24 Apr 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Wedding Photography 2/5 Fri, 26 Apr 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Wedding Photography 3/5 Fri, 03 May 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Wedding Photography 4/5 Mon, 06 May 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Wedding Photography 5/5 Wed, 08 May 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Outdoor Photography 1/3 Fri, 10 May 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Outdoor Photography 2/3 Mon, 13 May 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Wedding Location Workshop Wed, 15 May 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Outdoor Photography 3/3 Fri, 17 May 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Lightroom 1/2 Mon, 20 May 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Lightroom 2/2 Wed, 22 May 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Outdoor Photography Workshop Fri, 24 May 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Photoshop Practical 2 Mon, 27 May 2019 9:30 - 12:30
DSLR Videography 1/3 Wed, 29 May 2019 9:30 - 12:30
DSLR Videography 2/3 Fri, 31 May 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Car Location Workshop Sun, 02 Jun 2019 9:30 - 12:30
DSLR Videography 3/3 Mon, 03 Jun 2019 9:30 - 12:30
DSLR Videography Workshop Wed, 05 Jun 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Photojournalism 1/3 Fri, 07 Jun 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Photojournalism 2/3 Mon, 10 Jun 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Photojournalism 3/3 Wed, 12 Jun 2019 9:30 - 12:30
The Business End 1/3 Fri, 14 Jun 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Portfolio Review Tue, 18 Jun 2019 9:30 - 12:30
The Business End 2/3 Wed, 19 Jun 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Portfolio Review Thu, 20 Jun 2019 9:30 - 12:30
The Business End 3/3 Fri, 21 Jun 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Portfolio Review Mon, 24 Jun 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Portfolio Review Tue, 25 Jun 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Portfolio Review Wed, 26 Jun 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Graduation Thu, 27 Jun 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Exhibition & Open Day Fri, 28 Jun 2019 9:30 - 12:30

Venue Details

Office, F11, Pineslopes, Centre, 183, Forest, Rd, Johannesburg, 2010, South, Africa