6 Month Photography Programme

Saxonwold

R37,800.00

  1. Payment Plan option – R37,800.00
  2. Full Payment Upfront option – R35,800.00

COMPONENT 1: THE FUNDAMENTALS OF PHOTOGRAPHY

In this component you will learn the basics of digital photography in order to provide you with a foundational understanding upon which advanced principles are based. During this component students will develop the required skills to capture well-exposed, structured images that are technically superior and artistically driven. Major concepts such as camera operation, colour and contrast management, lighting conditions and studio methodologies provide the student with the tools needed to maximize their skill as a photographer. You will also learn to master the intricacies of TTL and manual exposure flash, as well as how to bounce your hot shoe flash and use it off-camera with confidence.

COMPONENT 2: EDITING, ENHANCEMENT, COMPOSITING

In this component students will be taken on a digital journey; from how digital images are captured in the camera to their final destination on a website, a magazine, an app or on a billboard. In this process students will learn how to capture, edit and manipulate images using the latest version of Adobe Photoshop, in such a manner as to allow for the greatest degree of creative expression. Once you have learnt the basics you will be taught advanced editing techniques used by professional photographers. You will also be introduced to Adobe Lightroom which has been designed to assist you to manage and edit large quantities of digital images in a streamlined way.

COMPONENT 3: SPECIALIST DISCIPLINES

In this component students will learn about the various specialist disciplines such as landscape, travel and wildlife photography. You will also be introduced to the exciting world of people and fashion photography, as well as what it takes to become a successful wedding and studio photographer. To top it off you’ll learn the challenging art of Photojournalism where you speak to your audience through pictures, that are worth a 1000 words.

COMPONENT 4: VISUAL DESIGN AND CREATIVE ELEMENTS

In the professional arena achieving technical excellence is a required standard, but artistic flair is what separates success from failure. In this component we delve into the creative aspects of composition, visual design and aesthetics. During this process students will be taught to pursue their creative instincts through creative photography.

COMPONENT 5: STARTING YOUR PHOTOGRAPHIC BUSINESS

In this component, students will be taught marketing methods and develop the required business skills to operate a photographic business in a competitive market. Photography is a multi-faceted industry and each discipline requires a tailored approach to achieve financial success.

COMPONENT 6: PORTFOLIO AND CORPORATE IMAGE

In practice, the skill of a photographer is judged on the quality of their images. The final component of this programme is the development of the students own brand identity and the final submission of their images in a portfolio layout of the student’s choice, to provide a kick-start into the photography industry.

WHAT EXPERIENCE DO I NEED?

None! To do the course you need no prior photographic knowledge, only enthusiasm and an open mind. A proficiency in English and a basic knowledge of computers is a requirement.

WHAT EQUIPMENT DO I NEED?

You will need a DSLR or Mirrorless camera with full manual mode, a sturdy tripod, and an external flash unit. Please note that you require your own laptop for the Photoshop and Lightroom training, with Photoshop CC and Lightroom Classic loaded.

For more information please contact us on 086 11 74686 (PHOTO) or photo@codp.co.za.

Lesson Schedules

Morning Lessons
Lesson Date Time
Mon, 08 July 2019
Introduction Mon, 08 Jul 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Fundamentals 1/5 Wed, 10 Jul 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Fundamentals 2/5 Fri, 12 Jul 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Fundamentals 3/5 Mon, 15 Jul 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Fundamentals 4/5 Wed, 17 Jul 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Fundamentals Outing Fri, 19 Jul 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Fundamentals 5/5 Mon, 22 Jul 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Photo Legend Presentation Wed, 24 Jul 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Lightroom 1/2 Fri, 26 Jul 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Lightroom 2/2 Mon, 29 Jul 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Lightroom 3/3 Wed, 31 Jul 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Feedback Session 1/3 Fri, 02 Aug 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Advanced Digital Photography 1/5 Mon, 05 Aug 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Advanced Digital Photography 2/5 Tue, 06 Aug 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Advanced Digital Photography 3/5 Wed, 07 Aug 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Advanced Digital Photography 4/5 Mon, 12 Aug 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Advanced Digital Photography 5/5 Wed, 14 Aug 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Advanced Digital Photography Outing Fri, 16 Aug 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Flash 1/3 Mon, 19 Aug 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Flash 2/3 Wed, 21 Aug 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Flash 3/3 Fri, 23 Aug 2019 9:30 - 12:30
People Photography 1/3 Mon, 26 Aug 2019 9:30 - 12:30
People Photography 2/3 Wed, 28 Aug 2019 9:30 - 12:30
People Photography 3/3 Fri, 30 Aug 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Studio Photography 1/5 Mon, 02 Sep 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Studio Photography 2/5 Wed, 04 Sep 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Studio Photography 3/5 Fri, 06 Sep 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Studio Photography 4/5 Mon, 09 Sep 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Studio Photography 5/5 Wed, 11 Sep 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Basic Photoshop 1/5 Fri, 13 Sep 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Basic Photoshop 2/5 Mon, 16 Sep 2019 9:30 - 12:30
People Location Workshop Wed, 18 Sep 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Feedback Session 2/3 Fri, 20 Sep 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Basic Photoshop 3/5 Wed, 25 Sep 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Basic Photoshop 4/5 Fri, 27 Sep 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Basic Photoshop 5/5 Mon, 30 Sep 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Photoshop Practical Wed, 02 Oct 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Wedding Photography 1/5 Fri, 04 Oct 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Wedding Photography 2/5 Mon, 07 Oct 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Wedding Photography 3/5 Wed, 09 Oct 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Wedding Photography 4/5 Fri, 11 Oct 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Wedding Photography 5/5 Mon, 14 Oct 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Outdoor Photography 1/3 Wed, 16 Oct 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Outdoor Photography 2/3 Fri, 18 Oct 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Wedding Location Workshop Sun, 20 Oct 2019 14:00 - 18:00
Outdoor Photography 3/3 Mon, 21 Oct 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Advanced Photoshop 1/5 Wed, 23 Oct 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Advanced Photoshop 2/5 Fri, 25 Oct 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Advanced Photoshop 3/5 Mon, 28 Oct 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Advanced Photoshop 4/5 Wed, 30 Oct 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Advanced Photoshop 5/5 Fri, 01 Nov 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Outdoor Photography Workshop Fri, 01 Nov 2019 15:00 - 19:00
DSLR Videography 1/3 Mon, 04 Nov 2019 9:30 - 12:30
DSLR Videography 2/3 Wed, 06 Nov 2019 9:30 - 12:30
DSLR Videography 3/3 Fri, 08 Nov 2019 9:30 - 12:30
DSLR Videography Workshop Mon, 11 Nov 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Photoshop Practical Wed, 13 Nov 2019 9:30 - 12:30
The Business End 1/3 Fri, 15 Nov 2019 9:30 - 12:30
The Business End 2/3 Mon, 18 Nov 2019 9:30 - 12:30
The Business End 3/3 Wed, 20 Nov 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Photojournalism 1/3 Fri, 22 Nov 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Photojournalism 2/3 Mon, 25 Nov 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Photojournalism 3/3 Wed, 27 Nov 2019 9:30 - 12:30
Graduation Thu, 28 Nov 2019 18:00 - 21:00
Exhibition & Open Day Fri, 29 Nov 2019 15:00 - 21:00
Mon, 20 January 2020
Introduction Mon, 20 Jan 2020 9:30 - 12:30
Fundamentals 1/5 Wed, 22 Jan 2020 9:30 - 12:30
Fundamentals 2/5 Fri, 24 Jan 2020 9:30 - 12:30
Fundamentals Extra Lesson Mon, 27 Jan 2020 9:30 - 12:30
Fundamentals 3/5 Wed, 29 Jan 2020 9:30 - 12:30
Fundamentals 4/5 Fri, 31 Jan 2020 9:30 - 12:30
Fundamentals 5/5 Mon, 03 Feb 2020 9:30 - 12:30
Fundamentals Outing Wed, 05 Feb 2020 9:30 - 12:30
Advanced Digital Photography 1/5 Fri, 07 Feb 2020 9:30 - 12:30
Advanced Digital Photography 2/5 Mon, 10 Feb 2020 9:30 - 12:30
Advanced Digital Photography 3/5 Wed, 12 Feb 2020 9:30 - 12:30
Lightroom 1/3 Fri, 14 Feb 2020 9:30 - 12:30
Advanced Digital Photography 4/5 Mon, 17 Feb 2020 9:30 - 12:30
Lightroom 2/3 Wed, 19 Feb 2020 9:30 - 12:30
Lightroom 3/3 Fri, 21 Feb 2020 9:30 - 12:30
Photo Legend Presentation Mon, 24 Feb 2020 9:30 - 12:30
Advanced Digital Photography 5/5 Wed, 26 Feb 2020 9:30 - 12:30
Advanced Digital Photography Outing Fri, 28 Feb 2020 9:30 - 12:30
Feedback Session 1/3 Fri, 28 Feb 2020 9:30 - 12:30
Flash 1/3 Mon, 02 Mar 2020 9:30 - 12:30
Flash 2/3 Wed, 04 Mar 2020 9:30 - 12:30
Flash 3/3 Fri, 06 Mar 2020 9:30 - 12:30
People Photography 1/3 Mon, 09 Mar 2020 9:30 - 12:30
Basic Photoshop 1/5 Wed, 11 Mar 2020 9:30 - 12:30
Basic Photoshop 2/5 Fri, 13 Mar 2020 9:30 - 12:30
Basic Photoshop 3/5 Mon, 16 Mar 2020 9:30 - 12:30
Basic Photoshop 4/5 Wed, 18 Mar 2020 9:30 - 12:30
Basic Photoshop 5/5 Fri, 20 Mar 2020 9:30 - 12:30
People Photography 2/3 Mon, 23 Mar 2020 9:30 - 12:30
People Photography 3/3 Wed, 25 Mar 2020 9:30 - 12:30
Studio Photography 1/5 Fri, 27 Mar 2020 9:30 - 12:30
Studio Photography 2/5 Mon, 30 Mar 2020 9:30 - 12:30
Studio Photography 3/5 Wed, 01 Apr 2020 9:30 - 12:30
Studio Photography 4/5 Fri, 03 Apr 2020 9:30 - 12:30
Studio Photography 5/5 Mon, 06 Apr 2020 9:30 - 12:30
People Location Workshop Wed, 08 Apr 2020 9:30 - 12:30
Wedding Photography 1/5 Fri, 10 Apr 2020 9:30 - 12:30
Feedback Session 2/3 Mon, 13 Apr 2020 9:30 - 12:30
Wedding Photography 2/5 Wed, 15 Apr 2020 9:30 - 12:30
Photoshop Practical Wed, 22 Apr 2020 9:30 - 12:30
Wedding Photography 3/5 Fri, 24 Apr 2020 9:30 - 12:30
Wedding Photography 4/5 Fri, 01 May 2020 9:30 - 12:30
Wedding Photography 5/5 Mon, 04 May 2020 9:30 - 12:30
The Business End 1/3 Wed, 06 May 2020 9:30 - 12:30
The Business End 2/3 Fri, 08 May 2020 9:30 - 12:30
The Business End 3/3 Mon, 11 May 2020 9:30 - 12:30
Food Photography Workshop Wed, 13 May 2020 9:30 - 12:30
Outdoor Photography 1/3 Fri, 15 May 2020 9:30 - 12:30
Wedding Location Workshop Sat, 16 May 2020 9:30 - 12:30
Outdoor Photography 2/3 Mon, 18 May 2020 9:30 - 12:30
Outdoor Photography 3/3 Wed, 20 May 2020 9:30 - 12:30
Outdoor Photography Workshop Fri, 22 May 2020 9:30 - 12:30
Advanced Photoshop 1/5 Mon, 25 May 2020 9:30 - 12:30
Advanced Photoshop 2/5 Wed, 27 May 2020 9:30 - 12:30
Feedback Session 3/3 Fri, 29 May 2020 9:30 - 12:30
Advanced Photoshop 3/5 Mon, 01 Jun 2020 9:30 - 12:30
Advanced Photoshop 4/5 Wed, 03 Jun 2020 9:30 - 12:30
Advanced Photoshop 5/5 Fri, 05 Jun 2020 9:30 - 12:30
DSLR Videography 1/3 Mon, 08 Jun 2020 9:30 - 12:30
DSLR Videography 2/3 Wed, 10 Jun 2020 9:30 - 12:30
DSLR Videography 3/3 Fri, 12 Jun 2020 9:30 - 12:30
DSLR Videography Workshop Tue, 16 Jun 2020 9:30 - 12:30
Photoshop Practical 2 Wed, 17 Jun 2020 9:30 - 12:30
Photojournalism 1/3 Fri, 19 Jun 2020 9:30 - 12:30
Photojournalism 2/3 Mon, 22 Jun 2020 9:30 - 12:30
Photojournalism 3/3 Wed, 24 Jun 2020 9:30 - 12:30
Graduation Thu, 25 Jun 2020 9:30 - 12:30
Exhibition & Open Day Fri, 26 Jun 2020 9:30 - 12:30

Venue Details

91, Oxford, Road, Saxonwold, 2196, Johannesburg, South, Africa